AFL Tasmania is pleased to welcome the establishment of the Football Tasmania Board, officially announced earlier today.

The Board is a State Government Advisory Board on all matters relating to football in Tasmania. AFL Tasmania CEO Trisha Squires will be on the Football Tasmania Board and looks forward to working with all board members, for a bright future for the game in Tasmania.

“We all have different ideas and different footy backgrounds but we all have a common love for footy and an ambition to grow and improve the game in our state,” Ms Squires explained.

“The Board captures a cross section of passionate Tasmanian football voices and will provide a productive forum for ideas and strategy to be presented and work shopped.

“I believe the Football Tasmania Board will be really valuable in uniting and growing Tasmanian football. We are all in this together.”

The Advisory Board will work with all members in the interest of the growth and sustainability of football in Tasmania, providing a forum for discussion for football’s stakeholders right across the state.

The members of the Football Tasmania Board include:

Mr Jim Wilkinson, MLC, Independent Executive Chairperson
Madeleine Ogilvie, President of the Southern Football League
Scott Rigby, President of the Northern Tasmania Football Association
Andrew Richardson, President of the North West Football League
Andrew Buchhorn, Vice President of the North West Football League representing junior football
Jim Horne, President of the Southern Tasmanian Junior Football League
Paul House, President of the Northern Tasmania Junior Football Association
Julie Kay, President of Lauderdale FC – representing the seven Tasmanian State League Clubs
Trisha Squires, Chief Executive, AFL Tasmania
Cameron Blizzard, President of the North West Umpires Association
A representative from the North-West regional associations to be announced
A representative from the Southern regional associations to be announced