After playing crucial roles in securing the Allies a round one victory over Vic Country, nine Tasmanians have again been selected for round two of the under-18 National Championships. 

The Allies will take on Vic Metro at Southport on Saturday (June 16), with both teams looking to secure a second straight win to start the series. 

The Allies accounted for Vic Country in Blacktown last weekend, booting four goals to none in the final term to run away with a 23-point win. 

In a contested match, Chayce Jones (28 disposals, five clearances, six tackles and two goals) shone to help the Allies start their campaign with a win for the first time in the side’s three years in the competition. 

Vic Metro also started the series with a bang, grinding out an 18-point win over Western Australia at Optus Stadium. Ben King, Noah Anderson and Rhylee West were among the standouts in the win. 

The Allies will have matches against South Australia (Friday June 29) and Western Australia (Wednesday July 4) to follow. 



Southport, Queensland

Saturday June 16 – 11:00am

Backs 36. Matthew McGuinness (Lauderdale) 37. Jacob Koschitzke 11. Keidean Coleman
Half Backs 47. Nicholas Baker (Lauderdale) 48. Dirk Koenen 17. Thomas Matthews
Centres 20. Fraser Turner (Clarence) 10. Chayce Jones (Launceston) 28. Matthew Green
Half Forwards 19. Bailey Scott 41. Matthew Walker 8. Baxter Norton

(North Hobart)

Forwards 31. Connor McFadyen 49. Nick Blakey 9. Blair Rubock (Launceston)
Followers 40. Kieren Briggs 26. Thomas Green 46. Tarryn Thomas (North Launceston)
Interchange 18. Lachlan McDonald 13. Ethan Jackson (Launceston) 12. Mitchell O’Neill (North Hobart)
  45. Jack Tomkinson 16. James Peatling
 Emergencies 2. Connor Budarick (em) 25. Ryan Gilmore (em) 44. Caleb Graham (em)


Tasmanians Selected:

#8 Baxter Norton – North Hobart (12/06/1999)

#9 Blair Rubock – Launceston (07/01/2000)

#10 Chayce Jones – Launceston (14/01/2000)

#12 Mitchell O’Neill – North Hobart (21/02/2001)

#13 Ethan Jackson – Launceston (22/10/2000)

#20 Fraser Turner – Clarence (26/12/2000)

#36 Matthew McGuinness – Lauderdale (13/07/2000)

#46 Tarryn Thomas – North Launceston (25/03/2000)

#47 Nicholas Baker – Lauderdale (10/11/2000)