Dedicated local football administrator Bill Trethewie and late great Hobart FC premiership ruckman Dennis Powell will be inducted into the Tasmanian Football Hall of Fame at the upcoming Gala Dinner on the 23rd of June, 2018.

William (Bill) Trethewie has provided dedicated service to football in Southern Tasmania continuously from 1977 and still plays an active role in competition administration, function management and junior development.

He has been recognised with Life Membership of the Tasmania University Football Club (University) and the Old Scholar Football Association and is acknowledged widely in Tasmanian AFL circles for his voluntary contribution to the game.

In addition to nearly 40 years’ service to University, Bill Trethewie also served the Amateur and then the Old Scholars Football Associations over more than 30 years, including 15 years in an executive capacity. Most recently Bill has been appointed Competition Manager such is his love of the game. The countless hours of voluntary service that Bill has provided has helped the Old Scholars to thrive and develop into a robust competition.

In recent years Bill Trethewie has also become vitally interested in the coaching and development of junior football with the Sandy Bay Junior Football Club.

The late Dennis Powell is considered one of the finest ruckmen ever to grace the football fields of Tasmania, he found fame as one of the key members of Hobart’s legendary teams of the late 1950s to mid-1960s.

Born in 1937, Powell hailed from the small town of Tunnack in the Tasmanian midlands. Powell established a reputation as a ruckman of singular brilliance: long and lanky – even in his later years – Powell was able to adapt his ruckwork to almost any conditions, and he became known as the finest tap ruckman in the state. For nearly a decade, Powell combined with fellow club greats Burnie Payne and Mal Pascoe to form the legendary Hobart following division known as ‘The Three Ps’, a combination who helped propel Hobart into the club’s greatest era, annexing TFL premierships in 1959, 1960, 1963 and 1966, as well as the Tasmanian State premiership over Burnie in 1959. In a sign of just how significant Powell’s contributions were during this period, he won Hobart’s Best & Fairest award a club record six times, a remarkable achievement given the quality of his teammates throughout his career. Perhaps he was aided by the fact that he was one of the most amiable chaps you were likely to meet, with his quick wit and dry sense of humour making him an enormously popular figure on and off the field.

Outside of club football, Powell was a regular representative player, turning out 14 times for the TFL, and was awarded the Weller Arnold Medal in 1962 as the TFL’s leading player in intrastate matches. He also represented Tasmania five times in interstate matches, where his performances led many to believe that he would have held his own at VFL level had he so wished. However, Powell was a man of simple pleasures, more than happy to ply his trade at TFL level for Hobart.

Powell retired from senior football at the end of 1971, having played a then club record 272 games for Hobart. Post-retirement Powell was an obvious selection as first ruckman in Hobart’s ‘Greatest Team’ from 1947-2001, and he was a life member of the club for nearly 50 years. A hugely respected figure and all-time great of the Hobart Football Club, Dennis Powell passed away in 2017, aged 79.


Administrator Inductee

Tasmania University Football Club / Old Scholars Football Association / Sandy Bay Junior Football Club, 1979 – 2018

Tasmania University Football Club: 416 games, 1977–2003; Secretary, 1979-80; President, 1981-82 and 1989,90; Amateur League delegate 1980–82; Life member, 1986; Coach – TUFC Thirds/Fourths, 1981, 1985, 1988 – 1991(Premiers Thirds 1990); Coach – TUFC Reserves 1992(Premiers), 1998(Runners Up), 1999(Runners Up); Captain TUFC Reserves 1985,86

· Senior runner/match manager, 1999–2017.

· Tasmania Amateur Football League (Southern Division): Vice president, 1983–85.

· Old Scholars Football Association: Vice president, 1987-88 and 1991–95; Life member, 1990; President, 1996-2002; AFL Tasmania South delegate, 2003–2014; Competition Manager, 2017, 2018.

· Sandy Bay Junior Football Club: Youth team coach, 2010-16; Director of Coaching, 2013–16

· STJFL, OSFA, AFLTas Volunteer of the year 2014


Player Inductee

Hobart, Ruckman, 1957-71

272 games for Hobart, 1957-71

Hobart TANFL premierships 1959, 1960, 1963, 1966

Hobart State premiership 1959

Hobart Best & Fairest 1959, 1961, 1962, 1965, 1966, 1967

Five representative games for Tasmania

14 representative games for TFL

Weller Arnold Medal, 1962 (Best TFL player in intrastate matches)

Hobart ‘Greatest Team – 1947-2001’ (Ruckman)