IC: Brodie Weeding (The Advocate)

The AFL W aspirations of Burnie twins Chloe and Libby Haines have received another significant boost, with the two Dockers invited to attend October’s NAB AFL Women’s Draft Combine in Melbourne. 

After starring for Burnie throughout the TSLW season and for Tasmania and the Eastern Allies as part of the Under-18 National Championships, midfielder Chloe and defender Libby are part of a group of 36 players nominated by AFLW clubs.

This group, considered among the elite juniors in the country, will take part in fitness and skills testing as well as interviews and information sessions at Etihad Stadium from October 2-3.

The draft will follow a few weeks later, with the date yet to be announced.

The upcoming AFL Women’s season will be the North Melbourne Tasmania Kangaroos’ first season in the competition.

Draft Combine Invitees:

ACT: Alexia Hamilton (Belconnen Magpies)                           

NSW: Brianna McFarlane (Coolangatta), Alyce Parker (Thurgoona)

NT: Danielle Ponter (St Mary’s)

QLD: Lauren Bella (Bond University), Nat Grider (University of QLD), Jacqui Yorston (Wilston Grange)

SA: Nikki Gore (South Adelaide), Katelyn Rosenzweig (Central District)       

TAS: Chloe Haines (Burnie), Libby Haines (Burnie) 

VIC: Jordyn Allen (Dandenong Stingrays), Daisy Bateman (Oakleigh Chargers), Madeline Brancatisano (Northern Knights), Eleanor Brown (Sandringham Dragons), Lauren Butler (GWV Rebels), Mikayla Cann (Eastern Ranges), Georgia Clarke (GWV Rebels), Rene Caris (GWV Rebels), Tyla Hanks (Gippsland Power), Julia Harvey (Murray Bushrangers), Courtney Jones (Dandenong Stingrays), Katie Lynch (Oakleigh Chargers), Abbie McKay (Sandringham Dragons), Hannah McLaren (Oakleigh Chargers), Nina Morrison (Geelong Falcons), Madison Prespakis (Calder Cannons), Olivia Purcell (Geelong Falcons), Denby Taylor (Geelong Falcons), Sophie Van De Huevel (GWV Rebels), Rebecca Webster (Murray Bushrangers), Charlotte Wilson (Eastern Ranges), Emerson Woods (Eastern Ranges)

WA: McKenzie Dowrick (Subiaco), Sabreena Duffy (Peel Thunderbirds), Jasmin Stewart (Claremont)