Tasmania is represented in the 2018 NAB AFL Women’s Academy with Burnie twins Chloe and Libby Haines selected in the squad.

The talented pair follow in the footsteps of recent AFLW draftee Daria Bannister, who was in the Academy last year.

Please see below the statement from the AFL.


2018 NAB AFL Women’s Academy
The AFL is pleased to announce the 2018 NAB AFL Women’s Academy squads.
The second intake of 44 players will receive a NAB AFL Women’s Academy scholarship and will come together for accelerated Australian Football and personal development camps to be held within Australia over a 12-month period.
The squads are overseen by AFL Women’s Female Talent Operations Manager Aasta O’Connor and mentors Renee Forth and Ahmed Saad.
2017 AFLW best and fairest and Adelaide Crows premiership player Erin Phillips will join the AFLW Academy staff as a high performance coach. 
The squads include players from every state and territory and includes 17 players who were members of the inaugural Academy.
The Academy will conduct its first camp in at the Michael Long Learning and Leadership Centre in Darwin in December.
The intake includes two squads; 15 Level One – players who are 16 years of age and 29 Level Two – which includes the best 17-year-olds across the country who are eligible for the 2018 NAB AFL Women’s Draft.
AFL Women’s Female Talent Operations Manager Aasta O’Connor said the squads were selected by AFL and state talent managers following the 2017 AFL Women’s Under-18 Championships.
“The success of the inaugural Academy can be seen with 11 players being added to AFLW lists at the recent NAB AFL Women’s Draft,” she said.
In the next 12 months we will be working to prepare the best young female talent for AFLW football.”
Academy players to have access to;
  • Training with AFL Clubs (which occurs in November and December 2017)
  • High Performance training camps in December and April
  • Athlete management systems
  • Expert AFL coaches, sports science and sports medicine staff
Level Two Squad
McKenzie Dowrick                Coastal Titans             WA
Sabreena Duffy                       Peel Thunderbirds      WA
Courtney Hodder                    Peel Thunderbirds      WA
Chloe Haines                          Burnie                         TAS
Libby Haines                          Burnie                         TAS
Tori Groves-Little                  Beenleigh                    QLD
Lauren Bella                           Bakers Creek Tigers   QLD
Tahlia Hickie                          Coorparoo                   QLD
Nikki Gore                              Christies Beach           SA
Danielle Ponter                       St Mary’s                    NT
Janet Baird                              Palmerston                  NT
Alyce Parker                           Thurgoona                  NSW/ACT
Jordyn Jolliffe                        Woorinen                    NSW/ACT
Jordyn Allen                           Dandenong Stingrays VIC C
Georgia Clarke                       GWV Rebels              VIC C
Courtney Jones                       Dandenong Stingrays VIC C
Brooke Struylaart                   Dandenong Stingrays VIC C
Tyla Hanks                             Gippsland Power        VIC C
Denby Taylor                          Geelong Falcons         VIC C
Olivia Purcell                         Geelong Falcons         VIC C
Nina Morrison                        Geelong Falcons         VIC C
Sophie Van De Huevel           GWV Rebels              VIC C
Eliza Shannon                         Geelong Falcons         VIC C
Rene Caris                              GWV Rebels              VIC C
Becky Webster                       Murray Bushrangers   VIC C
Madison Prespakis                 Calder Cannons          VIC M
Emerson Woods                     Eastern Ranges           VIC M
Georgia McPherson                Eastern Ranges           VIC M
Molly Warburton                    Calder Cannons          VIC M
Level One Squad
Rosie Deegan                          South Fremantle         WA
Mikayla Bowan                      Swan Districts            WA
Tarni White                            Coorparoo                   QLD
Kitara Farrar                           South Cairns Cutters  QLD
Lily Postlethwaite                  Moreton Bay Lions     QLD
Dee Heslop                             Southport                    QLD
Belle Dawes                            Moreton Bay Lions     QLD
Jamie Tabb                             West Adelaide            SA
Maggie Gorham                      Belconnen Magpies    NSW/ACT
Isabella Grant                         Western Jets               VIC M
Georgia Patrikios                   Calder Cannons          VIC M
Lucy McEvoy                         Geelong Falcons         VIC C
Millie Brown                          Murray Bushrangers   VIC C
Laura MccLelland                  Eastern Ranges           VIC M
Gabrielle Newton                   Northern Knights        VIC M
NAB is proud to support the development of female footballers throughout the country from grassroots players and football communities to the NAB AFL Women’s Competition.
The NAB AFL Women’s Academy is part of the NAB AFL Women’s Rising Stars Program. 
The NAB AFL Women’s Rising Stars Program consists of the following elements:
• NAB AFL Women’s Rising Star
• NAB AFL Women’s Draft
• NAB AFL Women’s Draft Combine
• NAB AFL Women’s Under-16 Championships
• NAB AFL Women’s Under-18 Championships
• NAB AFL Women’s Academy
NAB has been supporting footy from grassroots to the elite level since 2002.