Tasmania will play host to some key 2019 Toyota AFL Premiership season fixtures, today’s full fixture release has revealed. 

Hawthorn and North Melbourne will host four games each in Launceston and Hobart respectively in 2019, with the Hawks’ opening clash at UTAS Stadium against Carlton and the Kangaroos’ Saturday night clash with Sydney revealed earlier in the week.

Hawthorn will also play host to Port Adelaide at UTAS Stadium in round 10 – the first time the sides will meet since the heavily discussed trade between the clubs that saw Chad Wingard become a Hawk and Ryan Burton become a Port Adelaide player.

The Hawks will then return to the state for two matches in three weeks in July, hosting Fremantle in round 17 and Brisbane in round 19 – with both of these matches to be played on Saturday afternoons.

Chad Wingard will face his old side in round 10. IC: AFL Photos

The Lions will return to Tasmania with confidence, having defeated the Hawks twice in 2018 – with one of these games being at UTAS Stadium. This will also see former Hawthorn captain and current Lion Luke Hodge return to the venue, with Hodge holding the record for the most AFL games played at UTAS Stadium.

Port Adelaide will also be returning to Tasmania for a second straight season, while Fremantle will be playing at UTAS Stadium for the first time since round eight 2016.

These fixtures will follow Hawthorn’s previously announced opening match at UTAS Stadium – a Sunday afternoon showdown with Carlton in round six and a JLT Community Series clash against Richmond in the pre-season.

North Melbourne, as revealed earlier in the week, will host the Sydney Swans in a massive Saturday night encounter in round nine.

This match will be followed by a round 13 clash with the GWS Giants and a round 16 encounter with St Kilda – with both of these games scheduled for the 3:20pm Sunday afternoon timeslot.

GWS made history as part of the first ever AFL game at Blundstone Arena in 2012, having played three games at the venue, while St Kilda will be playing its third game in Hobart after matches against the Kangaroos in 2014 and 2015.

The Kangaroos will finish their 2019 season in Hobart, hosting Melbourne at Blundstone Arena. With the final round designed as a floating fixture, the date and time of this game are yet to be determined, but as two of 2019’s most competitive sides, this looms as a clash that could have a major say on the make-up of the final eight.

The Demons have gone down to North Melbourne in two thrilling games at Blundstone Arena, in 2015 and 2016, with both of these games decided by five points and four points respectively.



2019 Toyota AFL Premiership Season:

Round 6 – Hawthorn v Carlton, Sunday April 28 at 3.20 AEST at UTAS Stadium

Round 9 – North Melbourne v Sydney Swans, Saturday May 18 at 7.25pm AEST at Blundstone Arena

Round 10 – Hawthorn v Port Adelaide, Saturday May 25 at 1:45pm AEST at UTAS Stadium

Round 13 – North Melbourne v GWS GIANTS, Sunday June 16 at 3:20pm AEST at Blundstone Arena

Round 16 – North Melbourne v St Kilda, Sunday July 7 at 3:20pm AEST at Blundstone Arena

Round 17 – Hawthorn v Fremantle, Saturday July 13 at 2:10pm AEST at UTAS Stadium

Round 19 – Hawthorn v Brisbane Lions, Saturday July 27 at 1:45pm AEST at UTAS Stadium

Round 23 – North Melbourne v Melbourne, Friday August 23 – Sunday August 25 (date TBC) – Time TBC at Blundstone Arena


2019 JLT Community Series

Hawthorn v Richmond, Saturday March 9 at 7:10pm AEST at UTAS Stadium