Tasmania’s under-16 State Academy team has recorded an emphatic 75-point win over the Northern Territory at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast. 

Tasmania held the lead at every change after jumping out of the blocks with a six goal to one opening term and 11 goal to one first half. 

It was an even team performance from Tasmania, with North Launceston’s Jackson Callow (four goals), Launceston’s William Harper (four goals) and North Hobart’s Jye Menzie (three goals) leading the damage on the scoreboard. 

Clarence’s Oliver Davis played a starring role, finishing with 28 disposals, six marks, eight tackles, seven clearances and five inside 50s, as did North Hobart’s Angus Norton (21 disposals, one goal).  

Lachlan Borsboom (20 disposals, two goals), Oliver Sanders (20 disposals), Samuel Collins (19 disposals, 10 rebound 50s), Samuel Banks (14 disposals, 5 rebound 50s) and Jake Steele (20 disposals, 28 hit outs) also impressed. 

Tasmania now has two wins from as many games in the Division 2 Under-16 National Championships, backing up an impressive 22-point win over Queensland in Blacktown last month. 

Tasmania’s final match of the series will be against NSW/ACT on Saturday July 14 at Yeronga. 

Match Details:

TASMANIA – 6.2  11.6  15.7  19.10 (124)

NORTHERN TERRITORY – 1.1  1.3  4.4  7.7 (49)

Tasmania Goals: J. Callow 4, W. Harper 4, J. Menzie 3, L. Borsboom 2, J. Barwick 2, O. Sanders, P. Walker, A. Norton, J. Bearman

Tasmania Best: O. Davis, W. Harper, J. Steele, S. Banks, S. Collins, O. Sanders, J. Menzie




NO First  Name Surname CLUB
1   Angus     NORTON North Hobart
2   Jye     BEARMAN Glenorchy
3   Oliver     SANDERS North Launceston
4   Lachlan     BORSBOOM Clarence
6   Thomas     DWYER Launceston
7   Flynn     HARRIS Devonport
8   Angus     JEFFERIES North Launceston
9   Jacques     BARWICK North Hobart
10   Warrick     HALL North Launceston
11   Che     HAINES North Launceston
12   William     HARPER Launceston
13   Adrian     BUTTERWORTH Clarence
14   Samuel     COLLINS North Hobart
15   Oliver     DAVIS Clarence
16   Patrick     WALKER North Hobart
17   Toby     UPSON Launceston
19   Lachlan     SULZBERGER Kingborough Tigers
20   Axel     MOORE North Hobart
22   Samuel     BANKS Clarence
26   Jye     MENZIE North Hobart
27   Josiah     BURLING Longford
29   George     O’NEILL Kingborough Tigers
32   Lachlan     BLAKEMORE Circular Head Giants
33   Jackson     CALLOW North Launceston
35   Jake     STEELE North Hobart