TSL Umpiring

The Tasmanian State League (TSL) is the highest level of umpiring an individual can be involved in around the state.

The TSL Umpires are chosen on merit from the following 3 main umpiring associations in Tasmania: –

· Tasmanian Football Umpires Association (TFUA) – 48 current TSL Umpires

· Northern Tasmanian Football Umpires Association (NTFUA) – 25 current TSL Umpires

· North West Umpires Association (NWUA) – 11 current TSL Umpires

AFL Pathway

For those umpires who aspire to the AFL, the TSL is the competition that a Tasmanian must officiate in to be chosen. Since the reintroduction of the state league in 2009, 2 umpires namely Nick Foot (Field) and Mark Ensbey (Goal) have been selected onto the AFL Panel due to their outstanding performances.

The following Field Umpires have also been given AFL Contracts:

§ Shaun Gleeson (AFL Supplementary Field Umpire 2011-13)

§ Ben Lehner (AFL Supplementary Field Umpire 2013-14)

§ Joel Harris (AFL Supplementary Field Umpire in 2014)

§ Matt Clarke (AFL Supplementary Field Umpire in 2015)

National Championships

The TSL also provides opportunities to represent Tasmania at the under mentioned national championships:

– Under 18 National Championships

– AFL Women’s League

– Under 16 National Championships

– AFLW Under 18 National Championships


TSL Umpire Profiles

Bradley Chamberlain

Greg Morton

Jake Mckercher

Jay Carey

Jeremy Ware

Kaleb Lee

Rhys Goodyer

Tomas McIntee

Will Hamilton